top of page
Search

Almost Adults by Ali Pantony

Almost Adults is a lovely light hearted read. I had this book recommended to me by a friend and I am so glad I picked it up, although it took me a while to start it I feel reading it at the start of the lockdown really helped to get through the difficult days.


Synopsis:

The struggle is real but at least they're all in it together.

Ever managed to kill a succulent after just a few days? Got seven reminder letters on the kitchen table because you forgot to pay your council tax? Become a hot mess who's falling apart because they've been broken up with?

Mackie, Edele, Alex and Nat are navigating their chaotic and confusing twenties together. They have jobs and pay their own rent (well, most of them) but don't know how to bleed radiators, defrost a freezer or test the smoke alarms.

With break-ups to deal with and major decisions to make, life can get messy especially when they're still trying to get the hang of this 'being a grown-up' thing.



Being in my late twenties myself I found that I could relate really well with this book which probably helped me to enjoy it so much.

The character development progressed really well especially with Nat, Alex and Edele, at times it was like Mackie was forgotten about but I felt like that reflected in how she was herself as she came across as the one who's life was fairly on track from the beginning which left little room for her to develop throughout the book.

I had just started working at the hospital when I read this and it was the perfect light hearted read to get me through, there is a lot of laugh out loud moments where you can picture situations with your own friends and also moments where your in tears and I could relate to the heartache or stress which they were going through.

I feel like most girls go through similar situations in their late twenties that each of them goes through which is what makes this book so easy to read, it is extremely relatable.

If your a fan of Dolly Alderton's writing I can guarantee you will love Ali Pantony's


I rate this book a 4.5/5.


If you'r looking for a nice light hearted read here is a little link for you

This is in no way affiliated with amazon, just a link to save the searching.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page