top of page
Search

The Furies By Katie Lowe

Updated: Apr 22, 2020

The Furies is your typical teenage girl story, a cult like friendship full of witchcraft, rumours and trouble. The four girls are surrounded in violence and death which is current throughout their lives. As much as I did enjoy this book I sadly expected much more!


Violet is a girl who is shy, artistic and not very remarkable, she is a girl who normally just blends into the background. After a tragic accident and a year out of school she decides to enrol at a new school, gaining a scholarship at Elm Hollow Academy.

Her art teacher Annabel invites her to join an exclusive advanced study group. Being someone who doesn't have any friends or much of a social life she takes the offer and here she meets Robin, Grace and Alex. A group of outsider girls who invite her to join their group.

When their studies of the schools history of witchcraft and magic start to come to life Violet has to decide how far she is willing to go to stay popular. When she discovers the mystery of what happened to Emily, the girl who violet has replaced in the group. The girl that went missing before!


Sounds exciting doesn't it!!! I was expecting a Pretty Little Liars or Dare Me style book.A book which you can not wait to be adapted to the new Netflix drama but unfortunately I did not get that! :(

I am kinda left with a lot of questions to be honest. I felt slightly confused and disappointed at the end . Fairly unsure as to what really happened.

What happened to Annabel?

Where did she come from?

I feel like Annabel was left out a lot, She was there and was part of things but you never really know much about her, yet all of the girls actions come from what they have been taught or told by Annabel.

Maybe I have become more fascinated by Annabel than the girls which is why I struggled to feel completely fulfilled by the book.



I would say to everyone to read it, it is worth a read but I would say not to expect much from it unfortunately.


Personally I would rate this book 3.5/5.


If you do read this please let me know what you think!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page